A Travellerspoint blog

Short trip to Aldeburgh

First trip away

sunny 12 °C

We thought Easter week would be busy, no! We found a site only an hour from us on the coast, it was almost deserted. Beach View Holiday Park at Sizewell. Good weather now the high wind and rain had passed by.
Arrived mid afternoon, sorted out and enjoyed a beer!

The TV works after the satelite finder tuned in, all very relaxing despite a few odd jobs and finding out how things worked.

Next day was bright and sunny despite a strong southerly breeze, got the bikes out and rode along the path and beach to Thorpeness and Aldeburgh for lunch.

90_2016-03-31_11_12_05.jpg 2016-03-31_11_19_58.jpg 90_2016-03-31_11_20_41.jpg

Stopped of on the way back for an afternoon cream tea, I could get used to this.

90_2016-03-31_13_35_02.jpg 90_2016-03-31_11_22_48.jpg 90_2016-03-31_13_35_07.jpg

A visit to Snape Maltings rounded off the trip on the way home, our first 2 nights away in 'Herman'.

Posted by Eric_The_Viking 01:47 Archived in United Kingdom Comments (0)

And so the adventure begins

Lets start with a motorhome

Having toured parts of Europe by motorcycle over the past few years and traveled in France by car it's time to do something a bit different.

For some time we had been considering getting a motorhome once I'd retired and going off on new trips and adventures but the reality of packing up and travelling for months at a time isn't yet going to be an option.
We had hired a motorhome over the last couple of years, firstly a 4 birth lowline, fixed rear 'French' bed. A good start but we quickly realised this wasn't for us as the bed was too small and we wanted more room. A trip to Somerset was good and gave us a fair idea of what to expect.
Next came a 5 birth, double over-cab bed with rear bunkbeds and a large garage, this was more like it. A decent sized bed and lots more room. A week in Derbyshire and we were pretty sure we wanted something similar.

Early in 2016 we began looking at what was available, so much choice and spread around the country, all very confusing. We found a 10 year old- 6 birth Fiat Ducato Hymer not far from us and within our price range. The inside was what we wanted, a full size fridge / freezer, oven, dining area, the usual bathroom & shower, big garage, towbar, low mileage and in very good condition. It was ours.

2016-03-11_11_45_14.jpg 2016-03-11_11_45_00.jpg 90_2016-03-11_14_17_40.jpg

Secure storage was arranged and the planning began. We tweaked the inside and bedding to our own preference and set about putting our mark on it. Lots of ideas, but to be sensible and keep things manageable. A good clean up and a scrub of the roof and vents etc. A spare gas bottle, water container / pump. Load up the chairs and other odds & ends and we're good to go.

We had a couple of nights away up on the East coast nr Aldeburgh in March and another few are planned on the North Norfolk coast later this month or early May as a try out before anything more adventurous. We've decided to take Tipsey-Podge (the cat) with us.

2015-11-29_19_11_20.jpg

A trip to Scotland and the Western Isles is planned for May / June.
Hoping to eventually take the motorbike on a trailer to give us the freedom of doing some touring on two wheels while away rather than just relying on using mountain bikes to get around.

More on the trips as they happen!

Posted by Eric_The_Viking 01:10 Archived in United Kingdom Comments (0)

(Entries 1 - 2 of 2) Page [1]